Sound Range Website Goes Live!!

I’m thrilled to announce that the Sound Range Pilot Project is now live at:

The Sound Range Pilot Project is a community conversation about the changing acoustic landscape of the Clayoquot Sound UNESCO Biosphere Reserve region. As this unique area becomes increasingly busy, the noise associated with that busyness spills out into the surrounding area. Soundscapes—which researchers have found be markers of community health—affect daily life, artistic inspiration, wilderness experience and wildlife.
This project draws on many branches of our community to reflect changing local soundscapes, create better anticipation, understanding and resolution of issues and draw attention to the loss of traditional acoustic ecologies.
This pilot project is the first step in a platform for community representation through the joining of art, science and Indigenous knowledge—a platform that can continue to be built upon in future years.

Currently, the project is limited to two study areas: Lemmens Inlet and Tofino Harbour. As the project expands, more study areas will be added, including the pristine Sydney Valley, where the Clayoquot Biosphere Trust has been monitoring soundscapes for some time.

I would like to acknowledge my gratitude for the assistance of the Clayoquot Biosphere Trust, the District of Tofino and the Tofino Arts Council, as well as the members of the Tofino Poet Laureate working group. I would also like to thank the many community volunteers who donated their time or knowledge:

Levi Martin, Tla-o-qui-aht Language specialist and knowledge holder
Gisele Martin, Tla-o-qui-aht recorder of place names
Clare Watson, artist, map maker
Natalie Christensen, website designer
Kim Hoag, Tofino Arts Council and Poet Laureate Working Group
Cindy Hutchinson and April Froment, District of Tofino
Ian Cruickshank, biologist, sound recording, spectrographs
Dr Jim Darling, marine biologist, Remote Listening Project
Poets: Christine Lowther, Sherry Marr, Sarah Platenius and Jeanette Martinolich
Photographers: Wayne Barnes, Tim Webb, Ian Cruickshank, Christine Lowther, Alistair Horne